Response to Latest Inside Housing research on recent Chief Executive appointments

I presume you’ve done another review of CE appointments. You did one a couple of years ago which showed similar results. I said then if the sector failed to address the real issues nothing would change. It sounds as if I was correct. I’ve been saying this for so long which is why my main response is one of despair. I feel disillusioned, disappointed and above all angry. Angry that we are still failing so many talented people. Angry that despite all the warm words little changes. Angry that a sector that claims to be motivated by social values, which works in some of the most diverse areas in the country fails to reflect this in its most senior appointments at executive and non executive level. As James Baldwin said, how long do we have to wait?
When I began working on race and diversity in 1981 it was said that the main reason for lack of diversity was the lack of suitably qualified candidates. This is longer true. There is a wealth of diverse talent out there ready and able to take on these roles. I know there are still some leadership development programmes like 2025 but to be honest I no longer believe they are necessary. White candidates rarely receive such training. The wealth of diverse talent is ignored and not appointed for other reasons. The fault lies with those making appointments not those applying. At its heart the sector fails to recognise that it is racism that is the main cause. When you have eradicated all of the others that is what is left. There are great example which prove if you are genuinely committed to diverse appointments at senior level you will make them. I know I should not make personal comments but as a leader I appointed excellent black chief executives and chairs. Despite its warm words the sector is unwilling to recognise this racism and genuinely change despite the work of some great people. I once believed it would happen in my lifetime. Sadly I no longer do.
Tom

3 thoughts on “Response to Latest Inside Housing research on recent Chief Executive appointments

  1. Solid thoughts you’ve put down there, Tom, and a real pity that we don’t seem to have moved that much forward. As a society we are no longer plagued by overt racism (at least, rarely so) but that there is still that underbelly speaks volumes. Worrying times? We are plagued by the 3 Ps – populism, post-truth, polarisation. (Not my idea but don’t remember the academic’s name). Pandering to some white rose-tinted nostalgia is what I see. Similar to France with the recent rise of neo-Nazis. Yikes!

    • The racists and fascists are certainly more open in the U.K. From the rhetoric of Braverman to attacks on the streets. Kieran is often on the receiving end of racist comments as he travels to and from Leeds. What was once the extreme policies of the National Front are now mainstream Conservatives doctrine.

Leave a comment