The Staff of Life

#UKHousingFast

Guest blog by Tom Murtha (@tomemurtha)tomMurtha

My family have always had a difficult relationship with food. Like many we find it difficult to resist and therefore we tend to put on weight. One of my earliest memories is waking up on Christmas morning and finding a selection box in my stocking full of chocolates and sweets. I had eaten them all by dinner and made myself ill.

I was raised as a Catholic. As children we always went to Mass on a Sunday morning. When we were old enough to receive communion we had to fast until the service was over. This only required us to miss breakfast but to a young child it seemed like an eternity. I remember still the anticipation I felt, and the smell, as my Dad cooked Sunday breakfast in a large frying pan after we had returned from Church. Food never tasted…

View original post 439 more words

Leave a Reply

